Each year, AIA Middle Tennessee partners with the UTK College of Architecture and Design to award the 4th year student scholarship awards.

Competition is always at a high level, and local architects from the AIA Middle Tennessee chapter serve as the jury for student projects. Jury members give valuable feedback for the student works, and also ultimately choose the winners.

“The reason we’ve invested in the university since 1992 is to build a bridge for students to engage with architects in practice and to continue communication with faculty,” said Carol Pedigo, executive director of AIA Middle Tennessee.  “Over the years of supporting this student competition, we’ve given close to $50,000 to support students and the college.”

For more information on LEED, click here.

The 2016 Winners of the AIA Middle Tennessee 4th Year Scholarship Awards are:

First Place
Stevens Studio, Team One:

Anna Katherine Biggs
Austen Barrett

Second Place
Goeritz Studio, Team One:
Aaron Wright
Timothy Rhyne
Aubrey Andrews

Third Place
Rose Studio, Team Two:
Mustapha Williams
Dillon Dunn
Tori Placher
Kyle Prichard

2015 Winners:

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 10.05.56 AM

The 2015 First place award from AIA Middle Tennessee went to the student team of Johnna Coetzee, William Harvell and Jonathan Ruiz, taught by James Rose. These students received $1,500 from AIA Middle Tennessee.


Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 10.10.09 AM

The Second place award, $500, was awarded to students Brian Lam and Spencer McCarty from Bob French’s studio. 2015 Jury Members included John Tettleton, AIA, Adam Nicholson, Assoc. AIA and Justin Lowe, AIA